Helena Tavares Erickson

CPR Annual Awards Program
The CPR Institute’s Awards Program honors outstanding scholarship and practical achievement in the field of alternative dispute resolution.  Award criteria focuses on processes, techniques, systems, commitment, and scholarship which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes involving public or business institutions between corporations, between government and corporations, or among multiple parties. The review committee comprises judges and lawyers from leading corporations, top law firms and academic institutions across the U.S.

2014 Submission Deadline is November 3, 2014
> 2014 awards guidelines

2013 CPR Annual Awards Judges

Harold I. Abramson
Professor of Law
Touro College

Phillip M. Armstrong

Principal Counsel, ADR & Litigation
Office of Phillip M. Armstrong

David Burt

Corporate Counsel

Robert F. Copple

Copple & Associates, P.C.

Edward A. Dauer

Dean Emeritus and Professor of Law
University of Denver College of Law

Jay Folberg

University of San Francisco School of Law

Betsy A. Hellmann

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Harold Hestnes


Lisa A. Kloppenberg

Dean and Professor of Law
Santa Clara University School of Law

Michael Mcilwrath
Senior Counsel for Litigation
GE Oil & Gas

Carrie Menkel-Meadow

A.B. Chettle, Jr. Chair Professor of Dispute Resolut
Georgetown Law Center

Edward D. Ohlbaum

Temple University Beasley School of Law

Jeffrey Paquin

Paquin LLC

Bennett G. Picker

Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young, LLP

Sharon Press

Director, Dispute Resolution Center
Hamline University School of Law

Thomas Sabatino, Jr.

Exec. V.P., General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
Walgreen Company

CPR Staff:

Helena Tavares Erickson
Senior Vice President & Secretary

Anne C. Ferguson
Awards Administrator

Previous Annual Award Recipients

 The International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution (CPR), presented its 30th Annual Awards for Outstanding Scholarship in ADR on January 17, 2012 at a Special Dinner ceremony held at the Lodge at Torrey Pines, La Jolla, California at CPR’s Annual Meeting. >Learn more

CPR presented its 29th Annual Awards on January 11, 2012 in New York City at a special dinner.  Honorees included Douglas Noll, who received the CPR Book award for his book Elusive Peace: How Modern Diplomatic Strategies Could Better Resolve World ConflictsRead the Press Release here> Learn more

CPR presented its 28th Annual Awards on January 11th and 14th, 2011 in New York City. Honorees included Eric D. Green, who received the James F. Henry award for for his commitment and distinguished contributions to the field of ADR. >more

CPR presented its 27th Annual Awards on
January 13, 2009 in New York City. Honorees included Kenneth Feinberg, who was the recipient of the
James F. Henry Award for his work as a staunch advocate for utilizing ADR methods to solve this country’s most complex disputes. 

CPR presented the 26th Annual CPR Awards at New York's InterContinental Barclay Hotel on January 15, 2009. >more

CPR presented the 25th Annual CPR Awards at a dinner held at New York’s Waldorf-Astoria Hotel on January 17, 2008.
Honorees included Lord Woolf of Barnes, who was the recipient of the James F. Henry Award. >more  

>Learn more
about previous CPR Annual Award Recipients