2011 CPR Annual Award Winners Minimize
CPR's 29th Annual Awards recognizes innovative processes, techniques, systems, commitment and scholarship in the resolution, prevention and management of major disputes.

>Press Release

2011 Honorees

Outstanding Practical Achievement Award

John Upchurch of Upchurch Watson White & Max, one of CPR's Awards Sponsors, presented
Leonardo D'Urso with the Outstanding Practical Achievement award for the ADR Center in Italy
(Co-founders Giuseppe De Palo and Leonardo D’Urso)

Outstanding Professional Article Award

Irene Warshauer, who is a mediator and arbitrator, and a CPR Awards Judge, accepted the Outstanding
Professional Article Award on behalf of Roselle L. Wissler for the article, Court-Connected Settlement
Procedures: Mediation and Judicial Settlement Conferences
, 26 Ohio St. J. on D.R. 271-326 (2011),
who was unable to attend the Awards Ceremony.

Outstanding Short Article Award

Irene Warshauer also presented Stacie Strong for her winning short article, Collective Arbitration
Under The DIS Supplementary Rules for Corporate Law Disputes: A European Form of Class
, 29 ASA Bulletin 145 (2011)

Outstanding Student Articles/Papers

Hon. Elizabeth Stong, a judge with the Eastern District of New York, and a CPR Awards Judge 
the award on behalf of Michael Diamond, ‘Energized’ Negotiations: Mediating Disputes Over the Siting
of Interstate Electronic Transmission Lines
, 26 Ohio State J. on D.R. 1, 217 (2011), who was unable to
attend the ceremony.


Judge Stong also presented the Outstanding Student Article award to Nate Mealy for his article
Mediation’s Potential Role in International Cultural Property Disputes
26 Ohio State J. on
D.R. 1, 169 (2011)

Book Award

David Burt of DuPont and a CPR Awards Judge presented Douglas E. Noll with the Outstanding Book
Award for Elusive Peace: How Modern Diplomatic Strategies Could Better Resolve World Conflicts,
Prometheus Books, Amherst, NY (2011)

Best Electronic Media About ADR

David Burt also presented the Best Electronic Media About ADR Award to Roger Alford,
Editor of the Kluwer Arbitration Blog, http://Kluwerarbitrationblog.com/

>See Kluwer's press release about the Award

CPR 2011 Annual Awards Judges

Harold I. Abramson
Touro College
Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center
(Category II)

Phil Armstrong

Office of Phillip M. Armstrong
(Category II)

David H. Burt
E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company
(Category III)

Robert F. Copple

Copple & Associates, P.C.
(Category IV)

Edward A. Dauer
University of Denver College of Law
(Category IV)

H. Jay Folberg

University of San Francisco School of Law
(Category IV)

H. Roderic Heard

Barnes & Thornburg LLP
(Category III)

Elizabeth A. Hellmann

Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
(Category VI)

David Herr    
Maslon Edelman Borman & Brand, LLP
(Category IV)

Harold Hestnes
(Category II)

Lucy Katz
Professor Emerita
Fairfield University
(Category VI)

Lisa A. Kloppenberg
University of Dayton
School of Law
(Category VI)

Michael McIlwrath
GE Oil & Gas
(Category III)

Carrie Menkel-Meadow

Georgetown Law Center
Chancellor’s Professor of Law
University of California
(Category II)

Edward D.Ohlbaum
Temple University Beasley School of Law
(Category III)

Jeffrey D. Paquin
Abbott Laboratories
(Category II)

Sharon Press
Hamline University School of Law
(Category VI)

Richard C. Reuben
University of Missouri School of Law
(Category VI)

Hon. Elizabeth S. Stong
U.S. Bankruptcy Court
Eastern District of New York
(Category III)

Irene C. Warshauer
Law Office of Irene C. Warshauer
(Category III)

R. Bruce Whitney
Office of R. Bruce Whitney
(Category IV)

CPR Liaison:
Helena Tavares Erickson
Senior Vice President & Secretary

Anne C. Ferguson
Awards Administrator