Commission on Facilities for the Resolution of Mass Claims
CPR has created a Commission on Facilities for the Resolution of Mass Claims. Under the auspices of CPR Institute, Kenneth R. Feinberg, Partner, The Feinberg Group, will act as Chair and Deborah E. Greenspan, Partner, Dickstein Shapiro Morin & Oshinsky, will serve as Reporter. Mr. Feinberg and Ms. Greenspan are well suited for these roles. Previously, FMr. Feinberg was the Special master for the September 11 Victim’s Compensation Fund Program, designated by Congress to provide families of victims alternatives to litigation. Ms. Greenspan was the Deputy Special master. Together, they were responsible for devising systems for drafting and overseeing a distribution plan, creating guidelines, and managing operations.

This group also includes distinguished practitioners and experts with experience in resolution of mass claims, including judges, academics and attorneys.  It was convened to study the role of alternative dispute resolution methods in resolving mass claims and to promulgate best practices in the area.

The Commission has completed and released its book, the CPR Master Guide to Mass Claims Resolution Facilities.  The book reviews the use of ADR in various mass claims situations and recommend best practices for different types of mass claim situations ranging from defective products causing only property damage to September 11 type tragedies.  It provides a roadmap for determining who is entitled to receive money and guidelines for implementing the distribution. The committee chairs are  Kenneth Feinberg, and  Deborah Greenspan.  Jordana Feldman served as Reporter for the Commission and principal author of the book.  Mark Boyko served as Deputy Reporter. The book may be purchased in the CPR Store here.

CPR regularly convenes this committee of in-house counsel, attorneys, and leading ADR practitioners to analyze, establish benchmarks and publish material on issues that are critically important to business practices.  There are no scheduled committees meetings at this time.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ONLY: Information about upcoming meetings (including dial-in information), meeting minutes, agendas, materials, and works in progress for this committee are available via this link. >Access Materials

If you would like to join this committee, Contact Helena Tavares Erickson at herickson@cpradr.org.