2012 CPR Annual Award Winners


The International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution (CPR), presented its 30th Annual Awards for Outstanding Scholarship in ADR on January 17, 2012 at a Special Dinner ceremony held at the Lodge at Torrey Pines, La Jolla, California at CPR’s Annual Meeting. (Photographs of the meeting are forthcoming.)

Read the Press Release here.

See the Awards program here.

2012 CPR Annual Awards Program Winners

James F. Henry Award
Margaret L. Shaw



CATEGORY I - Outstanding Practical Achievement
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law Foreclosure Mediation Program

CATEGORY II - Professional Article
Jacqueline Nolan-Haley, Mediation: The “New Arbitration” 17 Harvard Neg. L Rev. 61 (2012)

Short Article
Charles B. Rosenberg and Dr. Matthew T. Parish, Investment Treaty Law and International Law, 23 Amer. Rev. of Int’l Arb. 1 (August 2012)

CATEGORY III - Student Articles/Papers
Grant Strother, Resolving Cultural Property Disputes in the Shadow of the Law, Student Paper (2012). To be published in the Spring 2014 Harvard Negotiation Law Review.

Mohamed S. Abdel Wahab, Ethan Katsh and Daniel Rainey, (Eds.), Online Dispute Resolution: Theory and Practice, Eleven International Publishing, The Netherlands (2012)

CATEGORY VI - Best Electronic Media About ADR
Just Court ADR (http://blog.aboutrsi.org)

Jacqueline Nolan-Haley and Charles B. Rosenberg and Dr. Matthew T. Parish were unable to attend the ceremony.  Colin Rule accepted on behalf of Mohamed S. Abdel Wahab, Ethan Katsh and Daniel Rainey

2012 Annual Award Judges
Phil Armstrong
Office of Phillip M. Armstrong
(Category II)

David H. Burt
(Category III)

Robert F. Copple

Copple & Associates, P.C.
(Category IV)

Edward A. Dauer

University of Denver College of Law
(Category III)

H. Jay Folberg
University of San Francisco School of Law
(Category VI)

H. Roderic Heard

Barnes & Thornburg LLP
(Category III)

Elizabeth A. Hellmann
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
(Category II-Short Articles)

Harold Hestnes
(Category II)

Lisa A. Kloppenberg
University of Dayton
School of Law
(Category II-Short Articles)

Michael McIlwrath
GE Oil & Gas
(Category II)

Carrie Menkel-Meadow
Georgetown Law Center
Chancellor’s Professor of Law
University of California
(Category IV)

Edward D.Ohlbaum
Temple University Beasley School of Law
(Category II-Short Articles)

Jeffrey D. Paquin
Abbott Laboratories
(Category IV)

Bennett G. Picker

Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young, LLP
(Category VI)

Sharon Press
Hamline University School of Law
(Category VI)

Thomas J. Sabatino, Jr.
Walgreen Company
(Category IV)

Hon. Elizabeth S. Stong
U.S. Bankruptcy Court
Eastern District of New York
(Category III)

Harry Trueheart
Chairman Emeritus
Nixon Peabody LLP
(Category IV)

Irene C. Warshauer
Law Office of Irene C. Warshauer
(Category II)

R. Bruce Whitney
Office of R. Bruce Whitney
 (Category IV)

CPR Liaisons:
Helena Tavares Erickson
Senior Vice President & Secretary

Anne C. Ferguson
Awards Administrator