The focus for the CPR Annual Awards (see the tabs above for award categories) is on scholarship that addresses the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes involving public or business institutions, such as those between corporations, between government and corporations, or among multiple parties.

ADR innovations in other areas, such as domestic relations or juvenile justice, are outside the parameters of this competition.  Updates and numbered editions will not be considered.  Submissions must be first-time published.

Each year, a "Call for Entries and Nominations" email is sent to academic institutions, law reviews and CPR Members in October requesting products that have been published during the year or taught during the prior academic period. Entries are welcome until the deadline. However, submissions will be accepted anytime before the deadline as long as they meet the criteria for that category. The award winners are announced in conjunction with CPR Annual Meeting the following year.

To develop a better understanding of the kind of achievement and written work of most interest, we recommend that you review past Awards Program winners on this web site.

Entry Procedures

Please include a cover letter with your submission with your name, address, telephone, and fax number, and email address.  If you are nominating someone for an award, please supply all of their contact information as well. In the letter, please also include the title of entry, entry category, publication date, and publication, if any, for all categories. It is helpful if you include all cite information.

While it is expected that submissions will be in the English language (or accompanied by a translation), CPR reserves the right to consider submission of works not in English.

CPR reserves the right to submit outstanding candidates that have not been entered in the competition.


A panel of leading lawyers, corporate counsel and academics will judge the entries. If entries in a given category do not meet the judges' standards, they may decide not to make an award. Their decision will be final.


DEADLINE: November 16, 2018

Send entries to:
Helena Tavares Erickson, Esq. 
SVP, Dispute Resolution Services & Corporate Secretary 
CPR Awards Program International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution 
30 East 33rd Street, 6th floor 
New York, NY 10016 

Electronic files (PDF or Word) are preferable.  Please send the electronic files to