Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

2021 Annual Awards

Wednesday, March 2, 2022

About the Annual Awards

The CPR Institute’s Awards Program honors outstanding scholarship and practical achievement in the field of alternative dispute resolution.  Award criteria focuses on processes, techniques, systems, commitment, and scholarship which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes involving public or business institutions between corporations, between government and corporations, or among multiple parties. The review committee comprises judges and lawyers from leading corporations, top law firms and academic institutions across the U.S.


2021 Annual Awards Judges - Academic

David H. Burt
David H. Burt, Esq.

Robert F. Copple
Copple & Associates, P.C.

Edward A. Dauer
University of Denver College of Law

Jay Folberg
University of San Francisco School of Law

Betsy A. Hellmann
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Homer La Rue
Howard University School of Law

Michael McIlwrath
GE Oil & Gas

Carrie Menkel-Meadow
University of California Irvine School of Law

Judith P. Meyer
J.P. Meyer Associates/Commercial Dispute Solutions

Hernando Otero
American University Washington College of Law Center on International Commercial Arbitration

Bennett G. Picker
Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young, LLP

Sharon Press
Hamline University School of Law

Donald Rose
Donald Rose Dispute Resolution

Elizabeth S. Stong
U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Eastern District of NY

Harry Trueheart III
Nixon Peabody LLP

CPR Liaison:
Helena Tavares Erickson
Senior Vice President, Dispute Resolution Services and Corporate Secretary


Now accepting nominations for the James F. Henry Award.
Beginning in 2002, outstanding achievement by individuals for distinguished, sustained contributions to the field of ADR. Candidates for the James F. Henry Award will be evaluated for leadership, innovation and sustaining commitment to the field.
The submission deadline for the James F. Henry Award is Tuesday, January 18, 2022.
Please submit your nominations via email to Helena Tavares Erickson at

For questions about your submission or the CPR Institute’s Awards Program, please email Helena Tavares Erickson at