2011 Corporate Leadership Award Dinner



On November 2, 2011, CPR presented its 2011 Corporate Leadership Award to GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) and Daniel E. Troy, its Senior Vice President and General Counsel, for dedication to the field of alternative dispute resolution (ADR).

GSK has deep roots as an advocate of alternative dispute resolution (ADR). The company joined the CPR Institute and signed the CPR Corporate Policy Statement on Alternatives to Litigation©—the CPR Pledge—in 1988.   For more than two decades, GSK has been an industry leader in bringing negotiation and mediation to drug industry disputes. The company’s law department has integrated ADR into its operations through its contract clauses, and a systematic approach to early case assessment and a commitment to ADR education for its inside and outside counsel. As head of GSK’s legal team, Dan Troy has demonstrated leadership and dedication to conflict management principles throughout his legal career in private practice, public service and as corporate counsel. Under his leadership, GSK is currently spearheading an effort to develop meaningful corporate data about the efficiency and financial impact of alternative methods of resolving disputes.

>Read the Press Release

2011 Dinner Committee

Committee Chair
Charles R. Morgan

Managing Director & Special Counsel
FTI Consulting

Frank Aquila
Sullivan & Cromwell LLP

Andy Bayman
King & Spalding LLP

Mary Beth Cantrell
Vice President, Law
Amgen Inc.

Colleen Davies
Reed Smith LLP

Nina Gussack
Pepper Hamilton LLP

Coleen Klasmeier
Sidley Austin LLP


Jay Lefkowitz
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Mark Lynch
Covington & Burling LLP

Elizabeth D. Mann
Mayer Brown LLP

Brien T. O’Connor
Ropes & Gray LLP

Stephanie Smith
Fulbright & Jaworski LLP

Paul Tvetenstrand
SNR Denton LLP

PD Villarreal
Senior Vice President-Global Litigation
GlaxoSmithKline plc

Baruch Weiss
Arnold & Porter LLP