Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

CPR Institute Presents 24th Annual Awards for Excellence in Conflict Resolution

The International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution announced the winners of the 24th Annual CPR Awards Program at a dinner held at New York’s Jumeirah Essex House. The CPR Awards Program honors outstanding use and scholarship in the field of alternative dispute resolution (ADR). Proskauer Rose LLP is our sponsor for the 2006 Awards Program, and we also receive special support for the Student Award from the Peter and Linda Hoffman Foundation. Further information on the CPR Awards Program can be found at

This year a Special Award for Extraordinary Achievement in the Development of Commercial Dispute Resolution was presented to the Negotiation and Conflict Management Group, Lagos, Nigeria, Kehinde Aina, Executive Director.

The Professional Articles Prize was awarded to Jennifer K. Robbennolt for Apologies and Settlement Levers, 3 J. on Empirical Legal Studies 333 (July 2006).

The Student Articles/Papers Prize was awarded to both Jeremy Joseph, for Mediation at War: How to Actually Win ‘Hearts and Minds’ – Improving the Reconciliative Effectiveness of the U.S. Military’s Condolence Payment Program to Aggrieved Iraqi Civilians Using Culturally Competent Arab-Muslim Mediation Techniques (Original paper, Georgetown Law Center, Mediation Seminar, Summer 2006) and Carol Pauli, for News Media as Mediators (Original Paper, Cardozo School of Law, ADR Seminar, Spring 2006).

The Book Prize was presented to Jeffrey Krivis, IMPROVISATIONAL NEGOTIATION: A MEDIATOR’S STORIES OF CONFLICT ABOUT LOVE, MONEY, ANGER – AND THE STRATEGIES THAT RESOLVED THEM (Jossey-Bass, San Francisco, 2006), and Honorable Mention to Andrea Kupfer Schneider and Christopher Honeyman, (eds), THE NEGOTIATOR’S FIELDBOOK: THE DESK REFERENCE FOR THE EXPERIENCED NEGOTIATOR (ABA Section of Dispute Resolution, Washington, DC, 2006).

CPR also announced that in 2007 it will add an additional category of awards for “short” articles that make a significant contribution to the field of ADR.

Download a PDF of this Press Release here