Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

CPR Institute Presents Its 26th Annual Awards for Outstanding Scholoarship in ADR

The CPR Institute’s Awards Program honors outstanding scholarship and practical achievement in the field of alternative dispute resolution (ADR). Award criteria focused on processes, techniques, systems, commitment, and scholarship which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes involving public or business institutions between corporations, between government and corporations, or among multiple parties. The judges of the CPR Awards comprise judges and lawyers from leading corporations, top law firms, and academic institutions across the U.S.

According to Kathleen Bryan, President and CEO of the CPR Institute, “As the ADR field grows more sophisticated, the search for effective problem solving approaches and best practices continues to move CPR’s mission forward. Many times, it is the work of our colleagues and peers that inspires our own activities and motivates us to spearhead innovation and promote excellence. It is for this reason, each year, CPR celebrate advancements and contributions to
the field of conflict management.”

Outstanding Original Professional Article

The award for Outstanding Original Professional Article recognizes an article published by academics and other professionals that advance understanding in the field of ADR. The 2008 CPR Award for Outstanding Original Professional Article was awarded to Christos Ravanides for his work, “Arbitration Clauses in Public Company Charters: An Expansion of the ADR Elysian Fields or a Descent into Hades”, 18(4) Am Rev Int’l Arb (2008).

Outstanding Original Student Article

The award for Outstanding Original Student Article recognizes an article or paper focused on events or issues in the field of ADR. The 2008 CPR Award for Outstanding Student Article was awarded to Katherine Dirks for her article, “Note: Ethical Rules of Conduct in the Settlement of Mass Torts: A Proposal to Reverse Rule 1.8 (G).” 83 N.Y.U. Law Rev. 501 (2008).

Outstanding Book

The award for Outstanding Book recognizes a published book that advances understanding in the field of ADR. The 2008 CPR Award for Outstanding Book was awarded to two particularly influential publications: Negotiation Genius: How to Overcome Obstacles and Achieve Brilliant Results at the Bargaining Table and Beyond, Harvard Business School Press, Bantam Books (2007) by Deepak Malhotra and Max H. Bazerman, and Challenging Conflict: Mediation Through Understanding, ABA Section on Dispute Resolution/PON (2008) by Gary Friedman and Jack Himmelstein.

Outstanding Short Article and Blog
The award for Outstanding Short Article recognizes a short article published by academics or other professionals that advance understanding in the field of ADR, with an emphasis on advancements of international understanding. The 2008 CPR Award for Outstanding Short Article was awarded to David Hoffman for this work, “Microsoft and Yahoo: Where Were the Mediators? They Help Countries and Couples, Why Not Businesses?”, The Christian Science Monitor (2008).

In addition, Honorable Mention was awarded to Geoff Sharp for his blog, “Mediator Blah …Blah …”, Mediation (2008). As a result of this submission, CPR is creating a new category for 2009, entitled Outstanding Electronic Media, which will recognize, blogs, websites and other electronic media that have in the subject year made an outstanding contribution to the field of ADR.

Download a pdf of the press release here.