Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

CPR Annual Awards Presentation


Media Contact: Wendi Chason

NEW YORK, NY, February 21, 2014 – The International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution (CPR), an independent nonprofit comprising global corporations, law firms, scholars, and public institutions dedicated to the principles of commercial conflict prevention and alternative dispute resolution (ADR), presented its 31st Annual Awards for Outstanding Scholarship in ADR on February 20, 2014 at a ceremony held at the Charleston Place, Charleston, South Carolina at CPR’s Annual Meeting.

The CPR Institute’s Awards Program recognizes exceptional scholarship in the field of alternative dispute resolution. Award criteria focuses on processes, techniques, systems, commitment, and scholarship which address the resolution, prevention, or creative management of major disputes involving public or business institutions between corporations, governments, or other parties.

James F. Henry Award
The James F. Henry Award was presented to Nancy Hardin Rogers for her lifelong leadership, innovation and sustaining commitment to the field of ADR, and in particular, her work on the development of the Uniform Mediation Act.

Outstanding Original Professional Article

The Awards for the Outstanding Original Articles were awarded in memory of one of CPR’s honored Awards Judges, H. Roderic Heard, a respected Chicago attorney and CPR supporter, who passed away on March 4, 2013.  The Award for Outstanding Professional Article recognizes an article published by academics and other professionals that advances understanding in the field of ADR. This year the award was granted to James H. Stark & Douglas N. Frenkel for their article, Changing Minds:  The Work Of Mediators And Empirical Studies Of Persuasion, 28 Ohio St. J. on Disp. Resol. 263-352 (2013).

Outstanding Original Short Article
This award recognizes a short article that advances understanding in the field of ADR. This year the award was presented Paul M. Lurie for Guided Choice:  Early Mediated Settlements and/or Customized Arbitrations, 7 J. of the ACCL 167 (2013)

Joseph T. McLaughlin Original Student Article or Paper
CPR is honored to announce that this Award will be dedicated to former CPR Board member and long time supporter, Joseph T. McLaughlin, who was a prolific advocate for effective conflict resolution practices as a practitioner, academic, writer, and speaker.  The Joseph T. McLaughlin Student Article Award, which has been endowed through the year 2021, recognizes an article or paper written by a student that was focused on events or issues in the field of ADR. This year this award was presented to Jennifer A. Trusz for her Note Full Disclosure?  Conflicts of Interest Arising from Third-Party Funding in International Commercial Arbitration, 101 Geo. L.J. 2649 (2013).

CPR Award for Outstanding Contribution to Diversity in ADR
CPR also made an award to Barry Leon for his Outstanding Contribution to Diversity in ADR to recognize a person or organization who has contributed significantly to diversity in the alternative dispute resolution field.  Mr. Leon has been a staunch advocate and innovator for diversity in the field of ADR.

Special Award
In addition, CPR recognized outgoing Chairman of the Board, the Honorable William H. Webster, Senior Partner of Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy LLP Judge Webster is also the Former Director, of the CIA and FBI, a judge of the  U.S. Court of Appeals and the U.S. District Judge Webster has led CPR’s Board since 2011.

About CPR
CPR is the only independent nonprofit organization whose mission is to help global business and their lawyers resolve complex commercial disputes more cost effectively and efficiently. For over 30 years, the legal community has trusted CPR to deliver superior arbitrators and mediators and innovative solutions to business conflict. CPR’s membership comprises an elite group of ADR trailblazers, including executives and legal counsel from the world’s most successful companies and global law firms, government officials, retired judges, highly-experienced neutrals, and leading academics. For more information on CPR, please visit