Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility



New York, N.Y., February 17, 2016 – The International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution (CPR), a global non-profit organization that advances dispute resolution practices and provides high quality dispute resolution solutions, announced its 33nd Annual Academic Awards for Outstanding Scholarship in dispute resolution. The Awards were presented at a ceremony on Feb.16 at The Roosevelt in New Orleans at CPR’s Annual Meeting.

Awards criteria focus on processes, techniques, systems, commitment and scholarship, which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes. This year, five individuals were awarded CPR Academic Awards for their outstanding work.

James F. Henry Award – This Award recognizes individuals who have made distinguished, sustained contributions to the field of ADR while demonstrating leadership, innovation and sustaining commitment to the field. This year, the Award was given to: Professor Thomas J. Stipanowich, Academic Director, Straus Institute for Dispute Resolution at Pepperdine University School of Law and William H. Webster Chair in Dispute Resolution as Professor of Law. Mr. Stipanowich, CPR's former President and CEO, was honored for his contributions as a scholar pre-CPR and throughout his career, as well as his leadership of CPR and Straus – where he significantly advanced ADR.

Outstanding Professional Articles – The Award for Outstanding Professional Article recognizes articles published by academics and other professionals that advance understanding in the field of ADR. This year, the award was granted to:

  • Nancy Rogers, When Conflicts Polarize Communities: Designing Localized Offices the Intervene Collaboratively, 30 Ohio St. Journal on D.R. 173 (2015)
  • Honorable Mention: Joel Lee, Culture and its Importance in Mediation, from Mediation in Singapore: A Practical Guide (Sweet & Maxwell, Hong Kong, 2015) also to be published by Pepperdine D.R. Journal Col. XVI.

Joseph T. McLaughlin Original Student Article Award
– The Joseph T. McLaughlin Student Article Award, endowed through the year 2021 in honor of Joseph T. McLaughlin – a former CPR Board member, long-time CPR supporter, and prolific advocate for effective conflict resolution practices as a practitioner, academic, writer and speaker – recognizes an article or paper written by a student that was focused on events or issues in the field of ADR. This year’s award was presented to:

  • Salvatore Bonaccorso, State Court Resistance to Federal Arbitration Law, 67 Stan. L. R. 1145 (2015)
  • Honorable Mention: Joseph Kammerman, One Hundred Years of Local Conflict and One National Tragedy, submitted for the ADR Writing Seminar, Benjamin Cardozo School of Law (Spring 2015)

“We congratulate Professor Thomas J. Stipanowich, Nancy Rogers, Joel Lee, Salvatore Bonaccorso and Joseph Kammerman for their contributions and work in this field,” said Noah Hanft, CPR CEO & President. “We are thrilled to continue recognizing outstanding scholarship in the field of ADR through these awards and hope others will be inspired by these honorees.”

About CPR: CPR is an independent nonprofit organization that, for more than 35 years, has helped global businesses prevent and resolve commercial disputes effectively and efficiently. Our membership consists of top corporations and law firms, academic and government institutions, and leading mediators and arbitrators around the world. CPR is unique as: (1) a thought leader, driving a global dispute resolution culture; (2) a developer of cutting-edge tools and resources, powered by the collective innovation of its membership; and (3) an ADR provider offering innovative, practical arbitration rules, mediation and other dispute resolution procedures, and neutrals worldwide. For more information, please visit