Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

CPR Announces Winners of its 34th Annual Academic Awards

Awards criteria focus on processes, techniques, systems, commitment and scholarship, which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes.

Coral Gables, FL – The International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution (CPR), a global non-profit organization that advances dispute resolution practices and provides high quality dispute resolution solutions, announced its 34th Annual Academic Awards for Outstanding Scholarship in dispute resolution. The Awards will be presented at a ceremony on March 3 at The Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables, Miami.           

Awards criteria focus on processes, techniques, systems, commitment and scholarship, which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes.

Outstanding Professional Articles – The Award for Outstanding Professional Article recognizes articles published by academics and other professionals that advance understanding in the field of ADR. This year, the award was granted to:

  • Winner: Hal Abramson, Nelson Mandela as Negotiator: What Can We Learn from Him?  31 Ohio St. J. on Dispute Resolution 1 (2016)
  • Honorable Mention: Douglas N. Frenkel & James H. Stark, Improving Lawyer’s Judgment: Is Mediation Training De Biasing? 21 Harvard Neg. L.R. 1 (2015)
  • Short Article: Ben Giaretta, Project Management in International Arbitration, 3 McGill J. of Dispute Resolution 66 (2016-17)

Joseph T. McLaughlin Original Student Article Award – The Joseph T. McLaughlin Student Article Award, endowed through the year 2021 in honor of Joseph T. McLaughlin – a former CPR Board member, long-time CPR supporter and prolific advocate for effective conflict resolution practices as a practitioner, academic, writer and speaker – recognizes an article or paper written by a student that was focused on events or issues in the field of ADR.

Winner: Theresa Mullineaux, “The Latest NFL Fumble: Using its Commissioner as the Sole Arbitrator: State ex rel. Hewitt v. Kerr,” 461 S.W.3d 798 (Mo. 2015)

 Y-ADR Annual Writing Award - 2016 Y-ADR Annual Writing Award for Efficient & Effective Collaboration Between Corporate Counsel and Outside Counsel was open to lawyers ages 45 or younger or those who have had fewer than eight years of professional experience in alternative dispute resolution (ADR) practice, including, but not limited to, as counsel, client, arbitrator, mediator, tribunal secretary or law clerk.

Winner: Jared Hubbard, “Charting a Course for Success: The Importance of An Initial Case Plan.” 

“We congratulate our award winners and are grateful for their contributions to creativity and innovation in the field of dispute prevention and resolution,” said Noah Hanft, CPR CEO & President. “It was very difficult to choose among such excellent examples of thought leadership, and we commend all the contributors for their continued work to raise the visibility of ADR.”


About CPR: CPR is an independent nonprofit organization that, for more than 35 years, has helped global businesses prevent and resolve commercial disputes effectively and efficiently. Our membership consists of top corporations and law firms, academic and government institutions, and leading mediators and arbitrators around the world. CPR is unique as: (1) a thought leader, driving a global dispute resolution culture; (2) a developer of cutting-edge tools and resources, powered by the collective innovation of its membership; and (3) an ADR provider offering innovative, practical arbitration rules, mediation and other dispute resolution procedures, and neutrals worldwide. For more information, please visit