Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

ICCA, CPR and NYC Bar Ass'n Cybersecurity Working Group Wins 2018 GAR Best Development Award

PARIS -- CPR was thrilled to receive GAR's 2018 Award for Best Development, for the Working Group it launched in conjunction with ICCA and the New York City Bar Association to focus on cybersecurity in international arbitration. The awards ceremony took place on April 12 in Paris.

The Working Group is considering the possible impact of cybersecurity breaches on the system of international arbitration, as well as current practice and existing duties. The members have drafted a set of general guidelines which will provide practical guidance for counsel, arbitrators and institutions, as well as a protocol that can be used to adopt cybersecurity measures for arbitral proceedings.

CPR's Vice President, Vice President, International and Dispute Resolution Services, Olivier André, who is playing a leading role in the project, accepted the award on behalf of CPR and the Working Group which is chaired by Brandon Malone (Scottish Arbitration Centre). The Working Group also includes: Paul Cohen (4-5 Gray's Inn Square Chambers), Stephanie Cohen (Independent arbitrator), Hagit Elul (Hughes Hubbard & Reed), Lea Haber Kuck (Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP), Micaela McMurrough (Covington & Burling), Mark Morril (Independent arbitrator), Kathleen Paisley (Ambos Law), and Eva Chan (Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP), who serves as Secretary to the Working Group.