Where am I Arbitrating?


i) Federal (FAA)
ii) State (UAA & RUAA)

B) Cross-Border Arbitration

i) General Rules
ii) Region Specific Rules

1. Asia-Pacific
2. South America
3. Europe
iii) Enforcement

1. New York Convention

a) US
Arbitration in the United States of domestic commercial disputes can be governed by the Federal Arbitration Act (9 U.S.C. §§1 et seq.) or state arbitration laws, and federal or state common law practices concerning the enforcement of arbitration agreements and arbitral awards. 

i) Federal (FAA)

The purpose of the FAA is to ensure that the parties’ arbitration agreement is enforced as written. The FAA creates a narrow substantive body of federal law applicable to questions of enforceability and arbitrability, which is applicable in either a federal or state court. The Federal act generally preempts state law. 

ii) State (UAA & RUAA)

Many state arbitration laws are based on the Uniform Arbitration Act (‘UAA’), which was revised in 2000 (i.e. the Revised UAA (‘RUAA’) 

The Uniform Arbitration Act (1956)
Enacted by (less those that have also more recently enacted the RUAA):


Year Enacted &
Corresponding Legislation


 1976 (N/A)


 1978 (N/A)


 1975 (N/A)


 1970 (N/A)


 1981 (N/A)


 1973 (N/A)


 1984 (N/A)


 1968 (N/A)


 1980 (N/A)


 1985 (N/A)


 1997 (LB 151)

South Carolina

 1978 (N/A)

South Dakota

 1971 (N/A)


 1986 (N/A)

    • The Revised Uniform Arbitration Act (2000)
      Enacted by:


    Year Enacted &
    Corresponding Legislation


    2004 (HB 83)


     2010 (HB 2430)


     2004 (HB04-1080)

    District of Columbia 

     2008 (B17-50)


     2001 (HB 462) 


     2010 (HF 1692)


     2001 (SB 336)

     New Jersey

     2003 (SB 514)

     New Mexico

     2001 (HB 768)

     North Carolina

     2003 (SB 716)

     North Dakota

     2003 (SB 2061)


     2005 (HB1807/SB873)


     2003 (HB 2279)


     2002 (SB 171)


     2005 (HB 1054)

    b) Cross-Border Arbitration

      i) General Rules

        1. CPR Rules for Non-Administered Arbitration of International Disputes
        2. CPR Global Rules for Accelerated Commercial Arbitration

        3. UNCITRAL

    Incorporation of a set of institutional arbitration rules streamlines the…process. Various institutions have promulgated such arbitration rules. For international arbitrations, the United Nations Commission on International Trade (UNCITRAL) is an example. (Drafting Dispute Resolution Clauses).

        4. International Chamber of Commerce Dispute Resolution Rules (ICC)

    The International Chamber of Commerce Dispute Resolution Rules is another example of the above description. 

      ii) Region Specific Rules
        1. Asia-Pacific Institutions
            • Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration 
            • Bangladesh Council of Arbitration 
            • Beijing Arbitration Commission 
            • Cambodia's Arbitration Council 
            • China International Economic & Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC)  
            • Commercial Arbitral Institution in Japan  
            • Hong Kong International Arbitration Center 
            • India Council of Arbitration 
            • Korean Commercial Arbitration Board  
            • Kuala Lumpur Regional Center for Arbitration 
            • Vietnam International Arbitration Centre
            • Philippine Dispute Resolution Center, Inc. 
            • Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC) 
            • Tehran Regional Arbitration Centre

        2. South American Institutions
            • Arbitration Center of the American Chamber of Commerce of Peru
            • Argentine Chamber of Commerce Mediation and Arbitration Center
            • Câmara de Arbitragem Empresarial Brasil
            • Centro de Arbitraje de la Cámara de Comercio de Caracas
            • Centro de Arbitraje Internacional de la Cámara de Comercio de Santiago
            • Centro de Arbitraje de Mexico
            • Centro de Conciliación y Arbitraje de la Cámara Nacional de Comercio de Bolivia 
            • Centro de Mediación y Arbitraje de la Cámara de Comercio de Nicaragua
            • Centro de Arbitraje y Mediacion Paraguay
            • Comisión de Resolución de Conflictos de la Cámara de Industria de Guatemala
            • Corte de Arbitraje Internacional para el MERCOSUR, Bolsa de Comercio de Uruguay

        3. European Institutions
            • Belgian Centre for Arbitration and Mediation 
            • Centre de Mediation et d'Arbitrage de Paris 
            • Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution  (CEDR) 
            • Chamber of National and International Arbitration of Milan 
            • Danish Institute of Arbitration  
            • European Court of Arbitration 
            • German Institution of Arbitration 
            • London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA) 
            • Malta Arbitration Centre 
            • Netherlands Arbitration Institute 
            • Scottish Branch of The Chartered Institute of Arbitrators  
            • Swiss Arbitration Association 
            • WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center

      iii) Enforcement

        1. New York Convention 

    The Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, also known as the ‘New York Arbitration Convention’ or the ‘New York Convention,’ is one of the key instruments in international arbitration. The New York Convention applies to the recognition and enforcement of foreign arbitral awards and the referral by a court to arbitration. (Click here for a list of participating countries involved).

    The information and resources on this website should not be construed as legal advice or opinion, or as a substitute for the advice of counsel.