Annual Awards

The CPR Institute’s Awards Program honors outstanding scholarship and practical achievement in the field of alternative dispute resolution. Award criteria focuses on processes, techniques, systems, commitment, and scholarship which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes involving public or business institutions between corporations, between government and corporations, or among multiple parties. The review committee comprises judges and lawyers from leading corporations, top law firms and academic institutions across the U.S. 


Book Award

A Book published by academics and other professionals during the publication period that advances understanding in the field of ADR. Books must be submitted in pdf or similar format. We regret that we cannot accept hard copy submissions.

James F. Henry Award

Beginning in 2002, the James F. Henry Award honors outstanding achievement by individuals for distinguished, sustained contributions to the field of ADR. Candidates for the James F. Henry Award will be evaluated for leadership, innovation and sustaining commitment to the field.

Joseph T. McLaughlin Original Student Article or Paper

Joseph T. McLaughlin Original Student Article or Paper on events or issues in the field of ADR. Outstanding papers prepared for courses requiring papers as substantial part of grade must be recommended for submission by professor.

Professional Article & Short Article

Professional Article & Short Article published by academics and other professionals that advance understanding in the field of ADR.


The judges for individual awards are drawn from the following list:

David H. Burt 

Robert F. Copple

Edward A. Dauer

Richard Faulkner

Betsy A. Hellmann

Homer C. La Rue

Michael McIlwrath​

Judith P. Meyer 

Dagfinn Nygaard

Hernando Otero

Sharon Press

Donald Rose

Gail Silverstein

Hon. Elizabeth S. Stong

S.I. Strong

Harry Trueheart III

Submission Guidelines for 2023 Awards

Submission Deadline:
Friday, November 17, 2023

Publication Period:
November 2022-October 2023

Submission Guidelines:
Send electronic file nominations (in PDF or Word format), via email to Helena Tavares Erickson, SVP, CPR Institute & Corporate Secretary at Please include a cover letter with your submission with your name, address, telephone, and email address. If you are nominating someone for an award, please supply their contact information as well.

While it is expected that submissions will be in the English language (or accompanied by a translation), CPR reserves the right to consider submissions not in English. CPR also reserves the right to submit outstanding candidates that have not been nominated.

See Upcoming Awards

See Past Winners