Government & ADR Task Force

With the passage of the Administrative Dispute Resolution Act of 1996, other similar laws and the 1998 presidential directive establishing the Interagency Alternative Dispute Resolution Working Group, U.S. federal agencies have aimed to incorporate ADR when possible to resolve disputes efficiently and effectively. The mission of the CPR Government & ADR Task Force is to educate corporations on the government’s use of ADR in light of these laws and the specific requirements for engaging in ADR with target government agencies. The Task Force will encourage the increasing use of ADR in private-public disputes as well as the development of new ADR solutions for these disputes. And as an information clearinghouse, the Task Force will bridge the gap between government and business by facilitating mutual sharing of ADR best practices.

The Government & ADR Task Force comprises leading practitioners, corporate counsel, neutrals, academics and current and former federal government employees, including ADR specialists and dispute resolution directors.

The Co-Chairs of this Committee are Barron Avery of BakerHostetler LLP and Pete Swanson, Director Office of Conflict Management and Prevention at the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service.

Participation in this Task Force is open to CPR members and non-members alike. If you would like to join this Task Force, please contact Zoe Chanin at