Insurance Committee

The Insurance Committee explores ways to effectively use mediation, arbitration and other processes when resolving disputes in which insurance coverage either is the subject or otherwise affects the parties’ interests and conduct.  With an expanded scope, it is the successor to CPR’s Directors and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance Group that was created to explore ways of incorporating mediation, arbitration and other ADR processes into the resolution of D&O matters.  CPR has long been a pioneer in seeking improvements to the resolution of insurance-related disputes going back to the provision of neutrals under the Wellington Agreement.  The committee is currently working on rules for expedited arbitration of insurance disputes.  Past works in the insurance area include Mediation Principles for Insurer-Insured Disputes and the CPR International Reinsurance Industry Dispute Resolution Protocol

The Co-Chairs of the committee are Peter Loughlin of Assurant and Jeffrey Bowen of Burns Bowen Bair LLP. The Secretary of this committee is Andrea Ramos of Holland & Knight LLP.

More information is available by logging in.

Committee participation is open to CPR Members only.