Back to Events
2023 Annual Awards

2023 Annual Awards

Wednesday, March 6, 2024 at 6:00 PM (EST) to Friday, March 8, 2024 at 9:00 PM (EST)

Event Details

The CPR Institute’s Awards Program honors outstanding scholarship and practical achievement in the field of alternative dispute resolution.  Award criteria focuses on processes, techniques, systems, commitment, and scholarship which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes involving public or business institutions between corporations, between government and corporations, or among multiple parties. The review committee comprises judges and lawyers from leading corporations, top law firms and academic institutions across the U.S.

The 2022 Annual Awards were presented at CPR’s 2023 Annual Meeting on March 2, 2023.


Annual Awards Categories

Submissions for 2023 Annual Awards are due November 17, 2023.

Book Award
A Book published by academics and other professionals during the publication period (November 2022-October 2023 for 2023 Awards) that advances understanding in the field of ADR.  Books must be submitted in pdf or similar format.  We regret that we cannot accept hard copy submissions.

James F. Henry Award
Beginning in 2002, the James F. Henry Award honors outstanding achievement by individuals for distinguished, sustained contributions to the field of ADR. Candidates for the James F. Henry Award will be evaluated for leadership, innovation and sustaining commitment to the field.

Joseph T. McLaughlin Original Student Article or Paper
Joseph T. McLaughlin Original Student Article or Paper on events or issues in the field of ADR in November 2021-October 2022. Outstanding papers prepared for courses requiring papers as substantial part of grade must be recommended for submission by professor.

Professional Article & Short Article
Professional Article & Short Article published by academics and other professionals in November 2021-October 2022 that advance understanding in the field of ADR.

Other CPR Institute Awards

Submissions for these 2023 awards are due December 15, 2023.

Outstanding Contribution to Diversity in ADR 
Recognizes a person or organization who has contributed significantly to diversity in the alternative dispute resolution field. Submissions are reviewed by a panel consisting of past winners, along with CPR’s Co-Chairs of the National Task Force on Diversity and CPR’s President. The submission deadline is December 15, 2023.

James P. Groton Award for Outstanding Leadership in Dispute Prevention
Recognizes a person or organization who has contributed significantly to the development and/or practice of dispute prevention. The submission deadline is December 15, 2023.

Submission Guidelines for 2023 Awards

Submission Deadline:
Friday, November 17, 2023

Submission Guidelines:
Send electronic file nominations (in PDF or Word format), via email to Helena Tavares Erickson, SVP, CPR Institute & Corporate Secretary at Please include a cover letter with your submission with your name, address, telephone, and email address. If you are nominating someone for an award, please supply their contact information as well.

While it is expected that submissions will be in the English language (or accompanied by a translation), CPR reserves the right to consider submissions not in English. CPR also reserves the right to submit outstanding candidates that have not been nominated.

For More Information:

Helena Tavares Erickson
Helena Tavares Erickson
Senior Vice President & Corporate Secretary CPR Institute
Annual Awards Judges: 

Bennett Picker

Betsy Hellmann

Carrie Menkel-Meadow

Dagfinn Nygaard

David Burt

Donald Rose

Edward Dauer

Gail Silverstein

Harry Trueheart

Hernando Otero

Homer La Rue

Hon. Elizabeth S. Stong

Judith Meyer

Michael Mcilwrath

Phillip Armstrong

Richard Faulkner

Robert Copple

S. I. Strong

Sharon Press