Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Mediation Committee

Task Force Opportunity: Committee co-chairs Steve Bierman (Bierman ADR) and Marjorie Berman (Krantz Berman) are convening a task force to review CPR's Mediation Procedure (Domestic) and determine any necessary updates or modifications.  The current procedures date from 1998.  The task force will examine, among other things, ethical considerations, online procedures, party or mediator withdrawal and other issues.  The task force, which will be limited in number, will identify inside counsel, outside counsel, academics and neutrals.  Please let Carrie Ann Trubenstein know. 

The Mediation Committee comprises CPR members throughout the world and aims to promote the use of mediation as a dispute resolution tool and to enhance the quality and effectiveness of mediation practice, both domestically and internationally.  The Mediation Committee has released Mediation Best Practices Guide for In-House Counsel: Make Mediation Work for You, a CPR members-only guide with insider tips from in-house counsel on how to navigate every step of the mediation process (digital copies available to CPR members at no cost).  The Mediation Committee meets 4-6 times a year to connect its members and to present programs of interest.   In addition, the Committee works to identify qualified neutrals to serve on CPR’s Panels of Distinguished Neutrals.  You may find online, CPR’s Mediation ProcedureFast Track Rules for Mediation, and International Mediation Procedure (2017), as well as other industry-specific protocols.  

The Co-Chairs of this committee are Marjorie Berman of Krantz & Berman and Steven Bierman of Bierman ADR.