2019 Annual Award Winners

Annual Award Winners,


Outstanding Professional Articles – The Award for Outstanding Professional Article recognizes articles published by academics and other professionals that advance understanding in the field of ADR. This year, the award will be granted to:

Outstanding Professional Article Winner: Nadja Alexander
“Ten Trends in International Mediation”
31 The Singapore Academy of Law Journal 405, (2019)

Outstanding Short Article Winners; Amy J. Schmitz and Colin Rule
“Online Dispute Resolution for Smart Contracts”
Journal of Dispute Resolution (Vol. 2019, No. 2)

CPR 2019 Diversity Award – In 2007, the National Task Force on Diversity in ADR created an Award for Outstanding Contribution to Diversity in ADR to recognize a person or organization who has contributed significantly to diversity in the alternative dispute resolution field. Submissions are reviewed by a panel consisting of past winners, along with CPR’s Co-Chairs of the National Task Force on Diversity and CPR’s President. This year, the award honored Hon. Timothy K. Lewis.  

Outstanding Contribution to Diversity in ADR Award presented to Ambassador David Huebner


James Henry Award - The James F. Henry Award, named for CPR’s founder, recognizes “outstanding achievement by individuals for distinguished, sustained contributions to the field of dispute resolution.” Candidates for the award are evaluated for “leadership, innovation and sustaining commitment to the field.”  

James F. Henry Award presented to Deborah Masucci