CPR Announces Annual Award Winners At Annual Meeting

Press Releases,

New York, NY – The International Institute for Conflict Prevention and Resolution (CPR), a global non-profit organization that manages conflict to enable purpose, is pleased to announce the 39th Annual Award Winners for contributions to alternative dispute resolution (ADR) in 2021 at a virtual ceremony as part of the CPR 2022 Annual Meeting.

CPR harnesses the insights and experiences of its members to prevent and resolve business disputes through its think tank, the CPR Institute. CPR Dispute Resolution provides alternative dispute resolution (ADR) services – mediation, arbitration, dispute prevention initiatives and more – through innovative and practical rules and procedures and through CPR’s Panel of Distinguished Neutrals.

The CPR Institute’s Annual Awards program honors outstanding scholarship and practical achievement in the field of alternative dispute resolution. Award criteria focuses on processes, techniques, systems, commitment, and scholarship which address the resolution, prevention or creative management of major disputes involving public or business institutions between corporations, between government and corporations, or among multiple parties. The review committee comprises judges and lawyers from leading corporations, top law firms and academic institutions across the U.S.

Notably, Sarah Rudolph Cole of Ohio State University’s Moritz College of Law, was a winner in two CPR Annual Award categories, the Outstanding Book Award and the Outstanding Professional Article Award.

“The innovative scholarship produced by these award winners will undoubtedly serve to advance the concepts of alternative dispute resolution, management and prevention. Our core purpose at CPR is to engage thought leaders from all facets of the field – academics, students and practitioners – to develop innovative tools in service of dispute prevention and resolution,” said Allen Waxman, CPR President and CEO. “The outstanding work awarded today is key to sustaining that purpose.”

“We are very grateful to the judges that invested a great deal of their time in reading and analyzing the submissions,” said Helena Tavares Erickson, CPR Senior Vice President and Corporate Secretary. “These were difficult judgments, as the works they considered were at the highest level.”

To see the list of the 2021 Annual Awards Judges, visit cpradr.org.

Outstanding Book Award

The Outstanding Book Award was presented to Art Hinshaw, Andrea Kupfer Schneider, and Sarah Rudolph Cole for Discussions in Dispute Resolution: The Foundational Articles (Oxford 2021).

Hinshaw is the John J. Bouma Fellow in Alternative Dispute Resolution and a Clinical Professor of Law at the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at Arizona State University. Professor Hinshaw is the Founding Director of the award-winning Lodestar Dispute Resolution Center.

Schneider is Professor of Law at Marquette University School of Law. Professor Schneider is the inaugural director of the Institute for Women’s Leadership at Marquette University and also serves as the Director of the nationally ranked ADR program at Marquette University School of Law.

Cole is professor at Ohio State University’s Moritz College of Law. Professor Cole is the Michael E. Moritz Chair in Alternative Dispute Resolution. A prolific author and co-author, Professor Cole has focused her research on the legal and policy issues that have arisen as a result of the increased use of alternative dispute resolution.

“The CPR Book Award signifies the importance of refusing to lose touch with the field’s foundational questions and issues. It is a definite career highlight. Thank you to CPR, to my co-editors, and to everyone who contributed to the book,” Hinshaw said.

"Receiving the CPR Book Award is a special honor because it signifies that this book is valuable across audiences, contexts, theories and practices --everything that we were trying to achieve. I am so grateful to CPR and my co-authors for this award!" said Schneider.

Outstanding Professional Article Award

Professor Cole won the Outstanding Professional Article Award for “Arbitrator Diversity: Can it be Achieved?” Washington University Law Review, Vol. 98, Issue 3 (2021).

Her article was updated and expanded into a four-part series, running from October 2021 to January 2022, in Alternatives to the High Cost of Litigation, the journal of the CPR Institute, co-published monthly with John E. Wiley & Sons, at altnewsletter.com.

“I am pleased and honored to receive CPR’s Outstanding Professional Article Award for my article extolling the benefits of arbitrator diversity and to receive the Outstanding Book Award for Discussions in Dispute Resolution, along with my co-editors Art Hinshaw and Andrea Schneider,” said Cole. “I cannot overstate how meaningful it is to me to receive these awards, and to join the illustrious company of those who have won these awards in the past. These are awards that scholars in the dispute resolution field, myself included, cherish and value.”

Outstanding Short Article Award

Daniel L. Shapiro won the Outstanding Short Article Award for “The Power of the Civic Mindset: A Conceptual Framework for Overcoming Political Polarization” Connecticut Law Review, Vol. 52, No. 3 (February 2021).

Shapiro is the founder and director of the Harvard International Negotiation Program and Associate Professor in Psychology at Harvard Medical School/McLean Hospital. He also teaches at Harvard College, Harvard Law School and Harvard Kennedy School and has served on the faculty at other leading universities.

Shapiro said, “I am honored and thrilled to receive this award from CPR, and I hope the article’s readers will put the ideas into practice to advance a more civic-minded society.”

Outstanding Student Article Award

The Outstanding Student Article Award went to Daniel Abowd for his article “Imagine: Could Mediation Systems Fix Songwriter Split Disputes?” (2021).

A 2021 graduate of Fordham University School of Law with a JD, Abowd is currently a Judicial Law Clerk at the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York. He received a BA from Cornell University and an MA from New York University.

“Writing can be lonely and grueling, and it can be hard to tell the difference between good work and nonsense, so it is incredibly gratifying when people you look up to deem your work worthy of recognition--thank you so much to CPR for this wonderful honor,” Abowd said.


About CPR

Established in 1977, CPR is an independent nonprofit organization that promotes the prevention and resolution of conflict to better enable purpose through the CPR Institute and CPR Dispute Resolution.

The CPR Institute drives and advocates for a global prevention and dispute resolution culture through the thought leadership of its diverse members – companies, leading mediators and arbitrators, law firms, individual practitioners, and academics – who share best practices and develop innovative tools for dispute management through Committees and events.

CPR Dispute Resolution is a boutique provider of leading-edge dispute management services – mediation, arbitration, custom appointing services, a panel of dispute prevention specialists, and more – that leverages resources generated by the CPR Institute. The case administrators are experienced attorneys with a combined 40 years of experience in ADR who speak five languages. The Panel of Distinguished Neutrals is a carefully curated, diverse group of prominent, experienced subject matter experts based in 35 countries. To learn more visit www.cpradr.org.

Twitter: CPR_Institute
LinkedIn: CPR-Institute

Lili Schroppe
Marketing and Communications Manager