2017 Annual Award Winners

Annual Award Winners,


Outstanding Professional Articles – The Award for Outstanding Professional Article recognizes articles published by academics and other professionals that advance understanding in the field of ADR. This year, the award was granted to:

  • Winner: Stephanie Cohen & Mark Morril. “A Call to Cyberarms: The International Arbitrator’s Duty to Avoid Digital Intrusion.” 40 Fordham International Law Journal 981 (2017)

  • Winner: Art Hinshaw. “Regulating Mediators.” 21 Harvard Negotiation Law Review 163 (2016)

  • Short Article: Lynn B. Cohn. “A Model for the Use of ADR to Efficiently Distribute a Significant Settlement Fund in Mass Claims Litigation Without Sacrificing an Individualized Assessment of Claims.” 18 Cardozo Journal of Conflict Resolution 699 (2017)

Joseph T. McLaughlin Original Student Article Award – The Joseph T. McLaughlin Student Article Award, endowed through the year 2021 in honor of Joseph T. McLaughlin – a former CPR Board member, long-time CPR supporter and prolific advocate for effective conflict resolution practices as a practitioner, academic, writer and speaker – recognizes an article or paper written by a student that was focused on events or issues in the field of ADR.

  • Winner: George Khoukaz. “ADR That is Out of This World: A Regime for the Resolution of Outer-Space Disputes.” Manuscript submitted for publication. Journal of Dispute Resolution (2017)

James Henry Award - The James F. Henry Award, named for CPR’s founder, recognizes “outstanding achievement by individuals for distinguished, sustained contributions to the field of dispute resolution.” Candidates for the award are evaluated for “leadership, innovation and sustaining commitment to the field.”  

  • WinnerGerald Aksen, Arbitrator & Mediator